COE prof Marilyn Strutchens named committee chair for National Science Foundation

November 14, 2019

Marilyn Strutchens headshotDr. Marilyn Strutchens, Emily and Gerald Leischuck Endowed Professor & Mildred Chesire Fraley Distinguished Professor in the Auburn University College of Education, has been named chair of the advisory committee for the National Science Foundation’s Directorate for Education and Human Resources (EHR). Dr. Strutchens was named to the advisory committee in 2016, and through her work and dedication she now serves as the chair.

“It is truly an honor to have been selected to serve as the incoming chair of the advisory committee for the NSF’s Directorate for Education and Human Resources,” Strutchens said. “The members of the advisory committee are scholarly, caring, and committed individuals who take their roles seriously in providing recommendations and critical feedback to the members of the Directorate. Moreover, as a member of the advisory committee I have the opportunity to learn about new NSF funding opportunities and events that may benefit the Foundation’s constituents. Thus, as I learn information, my goal is to share what is appropriate with my colleagues at Auburn University and others who have a strong interest in STEM Education.”

The advisory committee membership includes about two dozen STEM education experts, and the group provides guidance and oversight for the NSF’s programs for education and human resource development.

The mission of EHR is to achieve excellence in U.S. science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education at all levels and in all settings (both formal and informal) in order to support the development of a diverse and well-prepared workforce of scientists, technicians, engineers, mathematicians, and educators and a well-informed citizenry that have access to the ideas and tools of science and engineering. The purpose of these activities is to enhance the quality of life of all citizens and the health, prosperity, welfare, and security of the nation.

Congratulations, Marilyn!!